Note on Cookies

We use cookies to improve performance and enhance the user experience for the visitors to our website. By continuing to use the website you agree to our use of cookies.

O.k.

ENUM Domains

ENUM Domain – What Is It?

ENUM is derived from the term telephone number mapping. ENUM domains make Internet and telecommunication services available under a single telephone number. Under a single ENUM domain, a person's business and home phone, mobile phone, fax, business and private e-mail addresses, video conference addresses or websites may be addressed. The application that is being used at a given moment to get into contact with someone identifies the destination address that corresponds to the ENUM domain. Thus, ENUM automatically ensures that the message is sent to the appropriate device.

Examples:

  • E-mail program: e-mail address
  • Telephone call: fixed-line phone, mobile phone or IP phone

ENUM Domain – How Does it Work?

ENUM makes use of the Domain Name System (DNS). The linking of telecommunication resources and the Internet is achieved by registering an ENUM domain for a telephone number. For example: The telephone number +49 12345678 is assigned to the ENUM domain 8.7.6.5.4.3.2.1.9.4.arpa, including the domain holder's various communication services.

Since 2006, ENUM domains of the German number space have been registered by DENIC. The ENUM domains administered by DENIC under the German country code +49 are under 9.4.e164.arpa.

An ENUM domain for a particular telephone number can only be registered by the person holding that number. For ENUM domain registrations, DENIC's ENUM Domain Terms and Conditions and ENUM Guidelines apply.

In order to ensure that an ENUM domain is actually registered by the legitimate holder of the corresponding telephone number, DENIC provides a Complaint Procedure.

Read on to learn how :

More information:

Administrative Background Information:

  • The ENUM protocol was developed by the ENUM Working Group of the IETF (Internet Engineering Task Force) and documented in the Internet standard RFC3761.
  • E.164 is the standard of ITU (International Telecommunications Union). It describes the international numbering plan..arpa (address and routing parameter area) is a Top Level Domain that is used for infrastructure services.
  • The central registry for e164.arpa is RIPE NCC in Amsterdam.

ENUM Domain Request

[Translate to English:] ENUM Domainabfrage

Cookie Hinweis

Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies sowie Google Analytics. Wenn Sie die Webseite weiterhin besuchen, stimmen Sie deren Nutzung zu.

In unserer Datenschutzerklärung erhalten Sie weiterführende Informationen zu der Verwendung von Cookies und können die Erfassung Ihres Besuchs durch Google Analytics deaktivieren.

Zur Kenntnis genommen

ENUM-Domains

ENUM-Domain – Was ist das?

ENUM ist abgeleitet von telefone number mapping. Mit ENUM-Domains werden Internet- und Telekommunikationsdienste unter einer einzigen Rufnummer verfügbar. Unter einer ENUM-Domain können so der geschäftliche und private Telefonanschluss, Mobiltelefon, Fax, geschäftliche und private E-Mail-Adressen, Videokonferenz-Adressen oder Webseiten angesprochen werden. Die gerade vom Benutzer verwendete Applikation sucht sich die zur ENUM-Domain passende Zieladresse. ENUM sorgt automatisch dafür, dass die Nachricht zum passenden Endgerät gesendet wird.

Beispiele:

  • E-Mail-Programm: E-Mailadresse
  • Anruf: Festnetzgerät, Mobiltelefon oder IP-Telefon

ENUM-Domain – Wie funktioniert es?

ENUM nutzt das Domain Name System (DNS). Die Kopplung von Telekommunikation und Internet wird realisiert, indem zu einer Rufnummer eine ENUM-Domain registriert wird. Ein Beispiel: Der Telefonnummer +49 12345678 ist die ENUM-Domain 8.7.6.5.4.3.2.1.9.4.arpa mit den verschiedenen Kommunikationsdiensten des Domaininhabers zugeordnet.

Die Registrierung von ENUM-Domains des deutschen Nummernraums erfolgt seit 2006 durch DENIC. Die von DENIC unter der deutschen Vorwahl +49 verwalteten ENUM-Domains liegen unterhalb von 9.4.e164.arpa.

Eine ENUM-Domain kann nur vom Inhaber der korrespondierenden Rufnummer registriert werden. Dabei gelten die DENIC-ENUM-Domainbedingungen und DENIC-ENUM-Domainrichtlinien.

Um sicherzustellen, dass eine ENUM-Domain durch den Inhaber der korrespondierenden Rufnummer registriert ist, steht bei DENIC eG ein Complaint-Prozess zur Verfügung.

Lesen Sie wie:

Weitere Informationen:

Administrative Hintergrundinformationen

  • Das ENUM-Protokoll wurde von der ENUM Working Group der IETF (Internet Engineering Task Force) entwickelt und im Internetstandard RFC3761 dokumentiert. 
  • E.164 ist der Standard der ITU (International Telecommunications Union, der den internationalen Nummernplan beschreibt..arpa (adress and routing parameter area) ist eine Top Level Domain, die für Infrastrukturdienste genutzt wird.
  • Die zentrale Registrierungsstelle für e164.arpa ist RIPE NCC in Amsterdam.

ENUM Domainabfrage

ENUM Domainabfrage