Banner_Registry_Lock.jpg


.de Registry Lock:
The Security Plus for .de Domains

read more Arrow Down

.de Registry Lock – An Introduction

For companies, self-employed persons or private individuals alike, the own domain usually is the precious core of their online presence. Today more than ever, cyber attacks, domain hijacking or security holes are a real risk and who wants to make sure that their domain is particularly protected against unwanted manipulation, can now do so with ".de Registry Lock".

The security feature gives the domain holder full control over changes to their domain data,  because these may change over time: The holder data as such may change, for instance because the holder has moved, or new name servers to provide access to the content of the website may be entered for the domain or the provider administering the domain must be adjusted due to a provider transfer. The approval for such changes is given by the so-called Lock Contact. The role of the Lock Contact can be assumed either by the domain holder themselves or by a person they trust. The Lock Contact controls any changes to the domain data and actively approves them. It is not possibly to edit any data without the prior consent of the Lock Contact. Thus, the Lock Contact has full control and the domain is equipped with an additional protection.

The Players

The Domain Holder

Domaininhaber

Before the domain holder requests the .de Registry Lock feature to be created, they check the data stored for the domain via the whois. If the data are correct, the domain holder places a request via their provider for setting up the .de Registry Lock.For DENIC to establish the .de Registry Lock, the corresponding form must be fully and accurately completed and a proof of identity must have been submitted. Additionally, the domain holder indicates a Lock Contact in the form, who will have to confirm any changes to the data of the protected domain.

The Provider

DENIC

The provider is the contact point of the domain holder for all actions related to .de Registry Lock. The provider makes available the specific forms for requesting the setup of a .de registry lock, an update of domain data or a change to the lock contact and forwards them to DENIC for processing.

Lock Contact

DENIC

The Lock Contact is the point of contact for all changes that shall be made to the domain data. When DENIC receives a request via the provider to change the domain data, DENIC sends the release token to the mobile number of the Lock Contact and an e-mail to the e-mail address stored for this purpose. If the Lock Contact confirms the request to DENIC by stating the token, the change is authorised and implemented. If the Lock Contact does not confirm the change request within seven calendar days, the request is discarded.

DENIC

DENIC

DENIC checks the requests submitted by the member for setting up, changing or removing the .de Registry Lock and the change requests for the data of a locked domain. If the check fails, the request is not executed but returned to the provider.If the check is successful, DENIC requests the Lock Contact to confirm the action to be performed. Once the action has been duly authorised, the domain is updated and the Lock Contact and the provider are informed accordingly.

.de Registry Lock - How it Works

Setting up a
.de Registry Lock

Signet RL More

Update Domain Data
for Locked Domains

Datenupdate More

Update Lock Contact &
Removal .de Registry Lock

Datenupdate More

Banner_Registry_Lock.jpg

".de Registry Lock":
Das Plus an Sicherheit für .de-Domains

weiterlesen Arrow Down

.de Registry Lock - Was ist das?

Ob für Unternehmen, Selbständige oder Privatpersonen: die eigene Domain ist meist das wertvolle Herzstück der Online-Präsenz. Cyberattacken, Domain-Hijacking oder Sicherheitslücken sind ein reales Risiko und wer sichergehen will, dass seine Domain vor ungewollter Manipulation besonders sicher geschützt ist, der kann jetzt „.de Registry Lock“ nutzen.

Das Sicherheits-Feature gibt dem Domaininhaber volle Kontrolle über Änderungen an seinen Domaindaten, denn diese können sich im Laufe der Zeit ändern: Ob die Inhaber­daten selbst, beispielsweise durch einen Umzug, die eingetragenen Nameserver, über die die Webseiteninhalte erreichbar sind, oder der Provider durch einen Providerwechsel. Die Freigabe von Änderungen erfolgt durch den Lock Contact. Der Domaininhaber kann diese Rolle entweder selbst übernehmen oder dafür eine Person seines Vertrauens bestimmen, die die Kontrolle über Änderungen an den Domaindaten übernimmt und diesen aktiv zustimmt, bevor sie wirksam werden. Datenänderungen können ohne das Einverständnis des Lock Contacts nicht vorgenommen werden. Er hat damit die Kontrolle, und die Domain ist mit einem Extra-Schutz vor ungewollten Änderungen versehen.

Die Akteure

Der Domaininhaber

Domaininhaber

Bevor der Domaininhaber das Feature .de Registry Lock beauftragt, prüft er die in der Domain hinterlegten Daten über die Domainabfrage. Sind die Daten korrekt, gibt er über seinen Provider den .de Registry Lock in Auftrag. Damit DENIC den .de Registry Lock anlegen kann, muss das entsprechenden Formular voll­ständig und korrekt ausgefüllt sowie ein Nachweis der Identitat übermittelt werden. Zudem benennt der Domain­inhaber im Formular einen Lock Contact, der Änderungen an den Daten der geschützten Domain bestätigen muss.

Der Provider

DENIC

Der Provider ist erster Ansprechpartner für den Domaininhaber für alle Vorgänge rund um .de Registry Lock. Er stellt die notwendigen Formulare zur Verfügung und leitet die Auträge - ob zur Einrichtung eines .de Registry Lock, zur Änderung von Domaindaten oder zur Änderung des Lock Contacts - an DENIC zur Bearbeitung weiter.

Der Lock Contact

DENIC

Der Lock Contact ist Ansprechpartner für alle Änderungen an den Domaindaten. Wenn DENIC über den Provider einen Auftrag zur Änderung der Domaindaten erhält, wird ein Freigabetoken an die Mobilfunk­nummer des Lock Contacts sowie eine E-Mail an die hinterlegte E-Mail-Adresse verschickt. Bestätigt der Lock Contact den Auftrag unter Angabe des Token an DENIC, ist die Änderung autorisiert und wird durchgeführt. Erfolgt innerhalb von sieben Kalendertagen keine Bestä­tigung durch den Lock Contact, wird der Auftrag verworfen.

DENIC

DENIC

DENIC prüft die vom Provider eingehenden Aufträge zur Einrichtung, Änderung oder Aufhebung des .de Registry Lock sowie die Änderungsaufträge zu den Domaindaten einer Locked Domain. Schlägt die Prüfung fehl, geht der Auftrag unausgeführt zurück an den Provider. Bei erfolgreicher Prüfung fordert DENIC vom Lock Contact eine Bestätigung der durchzuführenden Aktion. Nach entsprechender Autorisierung wird die Domain aktualisiert und der Lock Contact und der Provider werden darüber informiert.

.de Registry Lock - so funktioniert es!

Einrichtung
.de Registry Lock

Signet RL Details

Update Domaindaten
für Locked Domains

Datenupdate Details

Lock Contact ändern &
.de Registry Lock aufheben

Datenupdate Details